SP cart
Why shop with Stony Plain Records?
  • We're secure
  • Our prices include shipping
  • The CDs we sell are the CDs we've worked on, so we're passionate about this music.

Index of Artists

Billy Branch and the Sons of Blues

Blues Shock

Blues Shock
BPCD 5158
Genre: Blues
Released: 25 February 2014

Get it on iTunes
Blues Shock represents the first studio-recorded release in nearly fifteen years from veterans Billy Branch and the Sons of Blues, and their first for Blind Pig. The result is a fascinating mix of daring, and fullbodied new compositions and fresh-sounding standards that followers have long savoured at their live shows.
Speaking of 'blues shocks,' it hardly seems possible that Billy Branch - once touted as one of the 'new generation' of blues musicians - is verging on elder statesman status in the blues community. Over a career spanning close to forty years now, Branch has become one of the blues' most eloquent spokespersons and an ardent evangelist and teacher of the blues, not to mention an award-winning veteran artist on the Chicago, national and international music scenes.
"I'm on close to 200 recordings at this point," estimates Branch. But this one feels destined to be one of the standouts. The virtuosity and sheer exuberance that Billy and the SOB's bring to this stylistically diverse material make for a recording sure to garner accolades from critics and fans alike.
The centerpiece of this recording is clearly "Going To See Miss Gerri," a tribute to Gerri Olier, whose 47th Street Palm Tavern was a landmark and a centre for Chicago's Bronzevill nightlife for decades until City Hall removed it in order to build an as-yet unfinished "Blues District." "Gerri called me her son. She used to come to my shows. And I used to spend a lot of time down there. Gerri is in a nursing home in Jackson [MS]. We took the song down to her, and I played it for her. She's 93."
"That's the most difficult song I've ever written," says Branch. "And I think the best song I've ever written."
"But I've been kinda like this underground person," says Branch with a laugh, referring to his 15 year studio hiatus. "Hopefully this will, like the title says, create a 'blues shock.'"
  1. Sons Of Blues (4:30)
  2. Crazy Mixed Up World (4:48)
  3. Blues Shock (4:47)
  4. Dog House (5:58)
  5. Function At The Junction (3:41)
  6. Going To See Miss Gerri One More Time (6:27)
  7. Back Alley Cat (2:21)
  8. Boom Boom (4:48)
  9. Slow Moe (4:36)
  10. Baby Let Me Butter Your Corn (4:27)
  11. Song For My Mother (5:24)
This disc is no longer available to order physically.
Get it on iTunes