SP cart
Why shop with Stony Plain Records?
  • We're secure
  • Our prices include shipping
  • The CDs we sell are the CDs we've worked on, so we're passionate about this music.

Index of Artists

Roosevelt Sykes

The Original Honeydripper

The Original Honeydripper
BPCD 5155
Genre: Blues
Released: 1 October 2013

Get it on iTunes

Picture Roosevelt Sykes (1906-1983): The dapper gentleman at the piano keys, cigar firmly set in the corner of his benevolently smiling round face, singing and playing to a lively, appreciative audience. It’s 1977 and you’re front row in Ann Arbor’s fabled Blind Pig Café, and on stage is The Honeydripper, Roosevelt Sykes, the consummate entertainer that enjoyed a career that spanned some sixty years.

Remastered and with two original outtakes, this first reissue of that live show spans the length and breadth of Sykes’ career. Opening with his interpretation of Cow Cow Davenport’s trailblazing 1928 boogie woogie composition, and featuring seven of Sykes’ own compositions including “Drivin’ Wheel,” now regarded as a blues standard, this recording gives us a brief retrospective of his career and the many influences on his piano style.

This is a classic live recording by one of our greatest and most beloved blues masters.

  1. Cow Cow Blues (3:42)
  2. Drivin' Wheel (2:58)
  3. Honeysuckle Rose (2:18)
  4. St. James Infirmary (3:58)
  5. I Like What You Did (2:17)
  6. What'd I Say (2:19)
  7. I'm A Nut (2:09)
  8. Running The Boogie (2:38)
  9. Too Smart To Soon (3:46)
  10. Viper Song (1:56)
  11. Don't Talk Me To Death (3:22)
  12. Early Morning Blues (3:22)
  13. Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone (2:09)
  14. Dirty Mother For You (4:35)
This disc is no longer available to order physically.
Get it on iTunes