SP cart
Why shop with Stony Plain Records?
  • We're secure
  • Our prices include shipping
  • The CDs we sell are the CDs we've worked on, so we're passionate about this music.

Index of Artists

The Cash Box Kings

Black Toppin'

Black Toppin
BPCD 5150
Genre: Blues
Released: 26 March 2013
Call +1 (780) 468-6423 to purchase
Get it on iTunes

While remaining dedicated to carrying on the musical traditions of post-war 1950's Chicago blues, the Kings stretch out and cover some of the other musical landscapes that blues music has traversed over the last 70 years on their new release, "Black Toppin.'" On display is their deep affinity for Delta and Louisiana swamp blues, jump blues and their own signature "blues-a-billy."

  1. Blues Falling Down On Me (3:50)
  2. Black Toppin’ (3:46)
  3. Trying Really Hard (To Try And Get Along With You) (3:31)
  4. Oscar’s Jump (2:32)
  5. Money, Marbles & Chalk (3:36)
  6. My Tinai (4:06)
  7. Too Late (3:29)
  8. Walking Blues (5:06)
  9. I Don’t Wanna Fight (3:36)
  10. Tom Cat Blues (3:29)
  11. Hot Biscuit Baby (3:33)
  12. Gimme Some Of That (3:09)
  13. Run Run Run (4:28)
Please call +1 (780) 468-6423 to purchase CDs
Get it on iTunes

Holler and Stomp

Holler and Stomp
BPCD 5142
Genre: Blues
Released: 25 October 2011

Get it on iTunes

On their Stony Plain/Blind Pig label debut, the Kings explore the various byways where traditional 'blues' and 'country' music intersect.

They cover classic sides by Hank Williams, Sr., the Rolling Stones and Muddy Waters, seamlessly mixed with their own originals.

Holler And Stomp is one of the freshest and most distinctive blues records in recent memory.

  1. Holler And Stomp (3:47)
  2. That's My Gal (3:34)
  3. Off The Hook (2:51)
  4. Feel Like Going Home (3:46)
  5. Fraulein On Paulina (4:07)
  6. Hayseed Strut (3:36)
  7. Katie Mae (2:59)
  8. Sara (3:50)
  9. Barnyard Pimp (3:17)
  10. Oh My Baby's Gone (3:21)
  11. Blues Come Around (2:20)
  12. Tribute To The Black Lone Ranger (3:32)
This disc is no longer available to order physically.
Get it on iTunes


The Daily Gleaner
By Wilfred Langmaid
Ten years into their career, ...[they] deliver a steady, if not spectacular, meat and potatoes album done with talented foils.