SP cart
Why shop with Stony Plain Records?
  • We're secure
  • Our prices include shipping
  • The CDs we sell are the CDs we've worked on, so we're passionate about this music.

Index of Artists

Damon Fowler

Sounds of Home

Sounds of Home
BPCD 5157
Genre: Blues
Released: 25 February 2014
Call +1 (780) 468-6423 to purchase
Get it on iTunes

After spending much of the past year touring with the band Southern Hospitality, Damon Fowler is back with his third solo project for Blind Pig Records, Sounds of Home. Damon chose swamp blues master Tab Benoit to produce and record him at Tab's rural Louisiana home studio, and their collaboration has resulted in Damon's strongest effort to date. The tension between his measured, laid-back vocal delivery and the hallmark intensity of his guitar virtuosity has never been keener, and the stories told in his songwriting here - sometimes in collaboration with long-time writing partner Ed Wright and Benoit - exhibit a combination of depth, grace and humour very few of his contemporaries can match.
Damon sets the standard for what is to come on the first track, "Thought I Had It All." It's an introspective, brooding tale shot through with razor sharp, frenetic guitar leads. Other songs like the title cut and "Where I Belong" flow in an easy Southern groove. Damon offers up two covers, peppering Johnny Winter's "TV Mama" with slithering slide guitar runs, and doing a great version of Elvis Costello's "Alison." The country tinged "Old Fools, Bar Stools, And Me" offers a poignant take on a familiar theme. "Do It For The Love" is a sweetly contemplative ballad featuring the lyrical counterpoint of Damon's lead guitar and Tab's pedal steel. The album closes with an inspired, finger-picked rendition of the traditional gospel song, "I Shall Not Be Moved." As with Damon's legendary live performances, Sounds Of Home takes the listener on a tour through the rich traditions of American roots music, presented by one of its foremost practitioners.

  1. Thought I Had It All (5:18)
  2. Sounds Of Home (4:22)
  3. Trouble (4:46)
  4. Spark (3:16)
  5. Old Fools, Bar Stools, And Me (4:30)
  6. Where I Belong (4:02)
  7. Grit My Teeth (5:27)
  8. Alison (3:42)
  9. TV Mama (5:13)
  10. Do It For The Love (5:59)
  11. I Shall Not Be Moved (3:33)
Please call +1 (780) 468-6423 to purchase CDs
Get it on iTunes

Easy Livin'

Easy Livin
BPCD 5152
Genre: Blues
Released: 26 March 2013
Call +1 (780) 468-6423 to purchase
Get it on iTunes
The band creating all the buzz is Southern Hospitality, comprised of lap steel guitar master Damon Fowler, guitarist extraordinaire JP Soars, and keyboard wizard Victor Wainwright. With echoes of Muscle Shoals and Macon, these dynamic young sons of Dixie draw on their rich heritage of Southern soul, blues, and rock music to create a fresh translation of Americana and Southern roots music with a modern sensibility. Easy Livin' is the band's debut recording and was produced by Louisiana luminary Tab Benoit.
  1. Southern Liviní (4:42)
  2. Long Way Home (4:57)
  3. Kind Lies & Whiskey (5:12)
  4. Mile After Mile (2:12)
  5. Certified Lover (7:58)
  6. Fried Neck Bones and Home Fries (7:46)
  7. Shoestring Budget (3:25)
  8. Donít Feel Like Going There Today (5:55)
  9. Come Back Home (2:50)
  10. Powered For the Mountain (5:32)
  11. Donít Boogie Woogie (4:31)
  12. Sky Is What I Breathe (5:22)
Please call +1 (780) 468-6423 to purchase CDs
Get it on iTunes

Devil Got His Way

Devil Got His Way
BPCD 5139
Genre: Blues / Rock
Released: 18 January 2011
Call +1 (780) 468-6423 to purchase
Get it on iTunes
  1. We've Got A Good Thing Going (4:00)
  2. Devil Got His Way (2:48)
  3. After The Rain (4:56)
  4. Tight Rope (3:39)
  5. 28 Degrees (3:34)
  6. Fruit Stand Lady (3:16)
  7. Cyprus In The Pines (3:36)
  8. Don't Call Me (4:18)
  9. Once In Awhile (3:28)
  10. You Go Your Way (4:38)
  11. American Dream (3:59)
  12. Happy Hour (2:26)
Please call +1 (780) 468-6423 to purchase CDs
Get it on iTunes

Sugar Shack

Sugar Shack
BPCD 5126
Genre: Blues
Released: 3 February 2009
Call +1 (780) 468-6423 to purchase
Get it on iTunes
  1. Some Fun (2:27)
  2. VFW (3:21)
  3. I Hope Itís Gonna Rain (4:44)
  4. Lonely Blues (4:30)
  5. James (4:48)
  6. Sugar Lee (4:32)
  7. Sugar Shack (4:37)
  8. Tonight The Bottle Let Me Down (3:41)
  9. Third Rate Romance (5:00)
  10. Wrong Side Of The Road (3:42)
  11. Donít Know Why I Love You (4:59)
  12. Iím Just An Old Chunk Of Coal (2:59)
Please call +1 (780) 468-6423 to purchase CDs
Get it on iTunes